Cal State Fullerton’s Taylor receives 3-yr extension

Cal State Fullerton Men’s Basketball Head Coach Dedrique Taylor has signed a three-year contract extension through the 2025-26 season, Athletics Director Jim Donovan announced Wednesday.

“I’d like to thank Senior Associate AD Greg Paules for negotiating this extension with Coach Taylor’s agent,” Donovan said. “Our goal for all of our sports at Titan Athletics is to make it to the postseason and Dedrique has done a great job in the Big West Conference postseason. He is the only men’s basketball coach in our history to make it to March Madness twice (2018 and 2022). Coach Taylor does a good job graduating his student athletes and he makes sure they’ll be successful in life along with being successful on the basketball court. We’re very proud and pleased to announce this extension for Coach Taylor.”

Taylor led the Titans to a Big West Tournament Championship and a NCAA Tournament appearance where they faced No. 2 seeded Duke in the first round. Taylor also led the team to a Big West Tournament Championship and NCAA Tournament appearance in 2018. He is the only coach in the history of the program to lead the program to two NCAA Tournament appearances. 

“I appreciate the opportunity that has been given to us by the university, President Virjee, Vice President Oseguera and Athletics Director Jim Donavan,” Taylor said. “I’m excited to continue growing our program and continue to be a part of these young men’s development. I am truly thankful to our staff, the players and all the people that have helped us produce a successful program. I’m anxious to continue down the road of success.” 

After leading the team to a 21-11 overall record and an 11-4 record in Big West play during the 2022-23 season, Taylor became the first coach in program history to have two 20+ win seasons and the first to have 10+ conference wins in four different seasons.

During Taylor’s tenure with the Titans, guard Michael Williams was named the Big West Conference Newcomer of the Year in 2014, Khalil Ahmad was voted the Big West Conference Freshman of the Year following the 2015-16 season after setting numerous Cal State Fullerton rookie records, Jackson Rowe was named the 2017 Big West Freshman of the Year after averaging 10.4 points and 7.2 rebounds per game. Kyle Allman, Jr. was named 2018 Big West Tournament MVP while he also earned All-District and first-team All-Big West honors twice.

Brandon Kamga was named the Big West Conference Newcomer of the Year in 2020 while averaging 18.4 points which ranked second in scoring in Big West Conference play. E.J. Anosike was named Big West Conference Newcomer of the Year in 2022 along with being named conference tournament MVP, NABC All-District 9 Second Team and Lou Henson All-American.

In addition, Kennedy Esume was named Fullerton’s Big West Male Scholar Athlete of the Year in 2016, just the second time since 1992 a student-athlete from the men’s basketball program has been bestowed the honor.

Tagged with: