Haith wins USBWA COY award

Missouri Head Coach Frank Haith has been named the recipient of the 2011-12 Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award, presented annually to the National Coach of the Year by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association. Haith and his staff guided the Tigers to a 30-5 overall record, marking just the second 30-win season in MU history. Mizzou, picked fourth in the Big 12 Conference pre-season coaches’ poll, won a school-record 14 Big 12 games, and finished second in the league standings with a 14-4 conference mark. The Tigers won the school’s second Big 12 Tournament Championship with a 3-0 run in Kansas City, before seeing their season end last Friday in the NCAA Tournament.

Stay with HoopDirt for the latest college basketball coaching news and rumors.