Holder resigns as Head Basketball Coach at Rend Lake College

Rend Lake College is on the lookout for its next head coach to take the helm of the men’s basketball program.

“We feel like our men’s basketball program is in good shape and are committed to finding the very best person to lead our program into the future,” said Rend Lake College Athletic Director Tim Wills. “Rend Lake College is a great place to work and I am confident we will find a quality person to keep our great basketball tradition alive. We are hoping to make a decision as soon as we can so our new coach can get started recruiting right away.”

As head coach, a candidate would be responsible for recruiting, organizing and conducting practices, scheduling games and tournaments, compiling and reporting statistics, managing a budget, monitoring academic progress of players and fundraising.

The search comes after Tommy Holder announced he would not be returning to the position following three seasons as head coach.

“We are very grateful for the job that Coach Holder has done with our men’s basketball team over the past several years and wish him the best with his future professional pursuits,” Wills said.

Only six people have ever held the head coach title at Rend Lake College since its inaugural season in 1967. Last season, the Warriors finished with a 14-18 record. After knocking out Illinois Central College in the first round of the National Junior College Athletic Association Division II Central District Tournament, the Warriors fell to John Wood Community College in the tournament semifinal. Of the ten players on the roster at the end of the season, 9 of the players were freshmen and could return next season.

RLC’s storied basketball program dates to the 1950s when the team played as Mt. Vernon Community College. Since RLC was formed in 1967, the men’s basketball team has compiled a regular-season record of 793-814 (.493) with plenty of postseason success along the way.

Past accolades

  • NJCAA Division II National Champions in 2012-13
  • NJCAA Division II Region XXIV Tournament Champions in 2011-12 and 2012-13
  • NJCAA Division I Region XXIV Tournament Champions in 1988-89 and runner-up in 1987-88
  • Great Rivers Athletic Conference Champions in 2012-13, 1990-91 and 1988-89
  • Southern Illinois College Conference Champions in 1981-82, 1976-77 and 1972-73

Past coaches

  • Tommy Holder — 32-61 (.344) over three seasons (2017-2020)
  • Randy House — 120-96 (.556) over seven seasons (2010-2017)
  • Tim Wills — 248-314 (.441) over 18 seasons (1992-2010)
  • Butch McClintock — 2-16 (.111) over ½ season (1991-1992)
  • Mitch Haskins — 205-136 (.601) over 10½ seasons (1981-1992)
  • Jim Waugh — 186-191 (.493) over 14 seasons (1967-1981)


Tagged with: