John Beilein inks contract extension through 2022-23 at Michigan

Photo Courtesy Michigan Athletics

University of Michigan Donald R. Shepherd Director of Athletics Warde Manuel announced Wednesday (July 18) that he and the David and Meredith Kaplan Men’s Basketball Head Coach John Beilein have reached an agreement for a contract extension through the 2022-23 season.

Additionally, the newly inked five-year rollover deal automatically extends one additional year and repeats each year until either Beilein, or U-M, has given proper notice that the renewal will not be exercised by mid-April.

“I am thrilled to ensure John’s leadership of our basketball program today and into the future,” Manuel said. “I am very pleased with our shared dialog throughout the process, and I am extremely happy that one of the game’s great coaches is representing the University of Michigan.”

“I am grateful for the opportunity the University of Michigan has given to me over the past 11 years,” said Beilein. “Kathleen and I love Ann Arbor, our University, our fans and the state of Michigan. We will continue to work very hard in the future to have our basketball team reflect the greatness of this University. I thank Mark Schlissel and Warde Manuel for their faith and commitment to our coaching staff and basketball program. The future of men’s basketball is bright and I am excited to be a part of it.”

Beginning his 12th season in Ann Arbor, Beilein and his Wolverines are coming off a program-record 33 win campaign (33-8), and a run to the 2018 Final Four, and national title game — a second trip in the last six years.

Already U-M’s all-time leader in wins with 248, Beilein has compiled a career record of 799-461 (.628) during his 41 years as a collegiate head coach. In 11 seasons in Ann Arbor, U-M has made eight NCAA Tournament appearances with four Sweet 16 (2013, ’14, ’17, ’18), three Elite Eight (2013, ’14, ’18), two Final Four and national title game (2013, 2018) runs.

The 2013 Big Ten Coach of the Year, Beilein has guided the Wolverines to two Big Ten regular-season titles (2012, 2014) as well as back-to-back Big Ten Tournament titles in 2017 and 2018. He has had 13 Wolverines earn All-Big Ten honors with Moritz Wagner (2017, 2018) and Muhammad-Ali Abdur-Rahkman (2018) the most recent additions.

Beilein coached Trey Burke to consensus National, All-American and Big Ten Player of the Year honors in 2013 as well as Nik Stauskas to All-American and Big Ten Player of the Year honors the following year in 2014. This past season, Duncan Robinson became the first Wolverines to earn the Big Ten’s Sixth Man of the Year accolade (2018).

With 12 Wolverines reaching the NBA under Beilein’s tutelage, he has nine NBA Draft selections with seven first-round picks — Darius Morris (2011, No. 41), Burke (2013, No. 9), Tim Hardaway, Jr. (2013, No. 24), Stauskas (2014, No. 8), Mitch McGary (2014, No. 21), Glenn Robinson III (2014, No. 40), Caris LeVert (2016, No. 20), D.J. Wilson (2017, No. 17) and Wagner (2018, No. 25).

Tagged with: