HoopDirt.com DII National Coach of the Year Award presented by The Hoop Group


For Immediate release
April 1, 2016

Lincoln Memorial University head coach Josh Schertz has been selected as the winner of the 2015-16 HoopDirt.com DII National Coach of the Year presented by The Hoop Group. Schertz was one of 15 DII head coaches who were eligible for the award after receiving HoopDirt.com/Hoop Group Coach of the Week honors for week 8 of the college basketball season.

This past season, Schertz led the Railsplitters to a 34-3 record as they advanced to the NCAA DII National Championship game.  From January 6th, until their defeat in the title game, LMU went on a program record 24-game winning streak which included the South Atlantic Conference regular season and tournament championships.  The Railsplitters were also an impressive 22-0 in conference play, and 18-0 at home on the season.  They also broke the previous SAC and school single-season record for wins with 34, won their fourth straight South Atlantic Conference title and captured the NCAA Division II Southeast Region championship for the first time in program history. The Railsplitters were the first men’s basketball team in SAC and program history to advance to the National Championship game.

On the season, LMU was second in the nation in scoring as they averaged 96.2 points per game.  They were also second nationally in margin of victory at 18.8 – the leader was at 18.9. The sharp shooting railsplitters were #1 in the country in three point percentage 44.6 while averaging 11.1 makes per game. In the final DII rankings, LMU was ranked first in the NABC Coaches Poll, and second in the D2SIDA Media Poll.

In his eight seasons at Lincoln Memorial, Schertz is an impressive 204-47 including back-to-back 30+ win seasons.  He has also put together a string of six straight 25+ win seasons.  This past season, Schertz won his third straight South Atlantic Conference Coach of the Year Award, and fourth over all.  He has also led the Railsplitters to five SAC regular season championships, and three SAC tournament championships.


About HoopDirt.com
HoopDirt.com is the largest website in the country dedicated specifically to college basketball coaching news, jobs, and rumors at all levels.  HoopDirt.com brings a unique insider perspective to the world of college basketball coaching – it was founded by college coaches as a way to help the college basketball community stay informed of what is going on in the coaching profession.

About Hoop Group
The Hoop Group is the worldwide leader in basketball instruction, offering premier basketball camps since the summer of 1963. Having touched the lives of over one million young men and women, Hoop Group has evolved from simply offering summer basketball camps, to hosting tournaments and competitions, skills camps, clinics, showcases, and facilities to the basketball community. The Hoop Group’s alumni list reads as a “Who’s Who” of the basketball world, including: Moses Malone, Julius “Doctor J” Erving, Vince Carter, Kobe Bryant, Chris Paul, Carmelo Anthony, Bob Knight, Chuck Daly, Billy Donovan, John Wall, Kyrie Irving and many more.