WEEK 13: HoopDirt.com Coach of the Week presented by The Hoop Group

Congratulations to the following coaches who have been selected as the Week 13 HoopDirt.com Coach of the Week presented by The Hoop Group. The coaches are now eligible to receive the HoopDirt.com National Coach of the Year Award presented by the Hoop Group which will be announced at the conclusion of the 2016-17 college basketball season.

Nominations for next week’s award can be emailed to: [email protected] – please include a brief statement as to why the coach should be recognized as well as any other information that may be helpful.

The Week 13 winners are:

NCAA DI: Dave Wojcik, San Jose State University

Dave  WojcikSan Jose State has put the rest of the Mountain West on notice these last two weeks. Coach Wojcik’s squad beat two titans of the MW this week, first taking down San Diego State at home before traveling to Sin City and completing a rare season sweep of UNLV. It’s the first time since 1996 that SJSU (13-10, 6-6 MW) has won four straight conference games and Saturday’s victory completes the first season sweep of UNLV since the 1993-94 season. Also, Tuesday’s win marks the Spartan’s first victory against San Diego State in eight tries dating back to 1999 and the first with both schools as Mountain West members. The Spartans will look to extend their four game winning streak this week with matches against Fresno State and Air Force.

NCAA DII: Lonn Reisman, Tartelton State (TX)

Coach Reisman has his Tartelton State Texan squad riding high sitting at 22-3 on the year and an impressive 13-2 in the Lone Star Conference. This past week saw a pair of victories in the friendly confines of Stephensville for Reisman’s 11th ranked crew. They dismantled Texas A&M Kingsville 78-41 on Thursday, and then defeated Angelo State 76-67 in front of national TV audience on WatchESPN and also a sold-out Wisdom Gym on Saturday. The Texans now have the longest current winning streak in the Lone Star Conference at six games. They’ll look to grab a few more wins with the remaining three regular season games before heading into the Lone Star conference tournament in March.

NCAA DIII: Chuck McBreen, Ramapo College (NJ)

ChuckMcBreen.14It’s been a busy week for Coach McBreen’s Roadrunners. The opened the week with a 87-64 win over Rutgers-Camden. Then came a 78-70 win over rival NJAC in which Ramapo clinched the NJAC regular season title and a first round bye in the NJAC tournament. The latest edition of the DIII rankings have now bumped Ramapo (22-2 / 15-2 NJAC) into the top 10. Standing at 8th overall in the country, they’ll look to finish the regular season with a win this week against Rowan before preparing for the tournament.

NAIA: Bill Dreikosen, Rocky Mountain College (MT)

Bill DreikosenRocky Mountain had a huge week last week, defeating a pair of ranked teams in consecutive games. First came a nail-biting 82-79 win over 8th ranked Carroll College, and that was followed up by an 8-point victory over 13th ranked Montana Western.  Dreikosen’s squad will look to build up some momentum this last stretch of the season, and some home-cooking this week with match-ups against Montana Tech and Lewis-Clark State College certainly should help.



JUCO: Josh Mills, Ranger College (TX)

Josh  MillsIf Coach Mills wants to shed the interim tag and become the permanent head coach for Ranger College last week was certainly a great showcase for him. They finished the week with a 103-76 blowout victory over Southwestern Christian, but it what was what they did at the beginning of the week that has to have Coach Mills smiling. They took down previously 3rd ranked McLellan College in an impressive 68-66 upset. Sitting at 20-6 on the year Ranger will look to pick up a pair of wins this week against Colin County and Temple College.


Previous Weekly Winners:

Week 1:
NCAA DI: Tom Crean, Indiana
NCAA DII: Brian Beaury, College of Saint Rose
NCAA DIII: David Hixon, Amherst College
NAIA: Jeff Britt, Bethel College (TN)
JUCO: John Pigatti, South Suburban College (IL)

Week 2:
NCAA DI: Chris Holtmann, Butler
NCAA DII: Ben McCollum, Northwest Missouri State
NCAA DIII: Tom Slyder, Northpark
NAIA: Kevin Burton, Union College (KY)
JUCO: Martin McCann, Palm Beach State

Week 3:
NCAA DI: Scott Drew, Baylor
NCAA DII: Kyle Tolin, Arknasas Monticello
NCAA DIII: Ron Rose, Illinois Wesleyan
NAIA: Craig Doty, Graceland College
JUCO: Steven DeMeo, Northwest Florida State

Week 4:
NCAA DI: Roy Williams, University of North Carolina
NCAA DII: Jerrod Calhoun, Fairmont State University
NCAA DIII: Luke Flockerzi, University of Rochester
NAIA: Kim Elders, Cornerstone University
JUCO: Patrick Smith, Moberly Area Community College

Week 5:
NCAA DI: Steve Forbes, East Tennessee State
NCAA DII: Rodney Watson, University of Southern Indiana
NCAA DIII: Charlie Brock, Springfield College
NAIA: Rollie Massimino, Keiser University
JUCO: Luke Strege, Mineral Area College

Week 6:
NCAA DI: Buzz Williams, Virginia Tech
NCAA DII: Paul Trevor, San Francisco State
NCAA DIII: Eric Bridgeland, Whitman College
NAIA: Jeff Rutter, Arizona Christian
JUCO: David Archer, Jr., Chattahoochee Tech

Week 7:
NCAA DI: Kelvin Sampson, Houston
NCAA DII: Jamie Stevens, Montana State Billings
NCAA DIII: Mark Edwards, Washington University (St. Louis)
NAIA: Kelly Wells, University of Pikeville (KY)
JUCO: Steve Green, South Plains College (TX)

Week 8:
NCAA DI: Randy Bennett, St. Mary’s
NCAA DII: Nelson Haggerty, Midwestern State (TX)
NCAA DIII: Chris Martin, Loras College (IA)
NAIA: Larry Cordaro, LSU Alexandria
JUCO: Todd Lorensen, Southwestern CC (IA)

Week 9:
NCAA DI: Kevin Keatts, UNC Wilmington
NCAA DII: Bob Pietrack, Fort Lewis College (CO)
NCAA DIII: Bob Ghiloni, Denison University (OH)
NAIA: Tony Ingle, Dalton State (GA)
JUCO: Charlie Wilson, Indian River State College (FL)

Week 10:
NCAA DI: Chris Collins, Northwestern University
NCAA DII: Chris Fife, Shippensburg University (PA)
NCAA DIII: Ken Scalmanini, Claremont Mudd Scripps (CA)
NAIA: Sean Hanrahan, Warner University (FL)
JUCO: Matt Ridge, Davidson County CC (NC)

Week 11:
NCAA DI: Josh Pastner, Georgia Tech
NCAA DII: TJ Dekmar, Goldey-Beacom College (DE)
NCAA DIII: John Krikorian, Christopher Newport University (VA)
NAIA: Justin Wetzel, Dickinson State University (ND)
JUCO: Chuck Moore, Richard Bland College (VA)

Week 12:
NCAA DI: Donyell Marshall, Central Connecticut State
NCAA DII: Joe Gallo, Merrimack College (MA)
NCAA DIII: Stephen Brennan, Babson College (MA)
NAIA: Ryan Wall, Our Lady of the Lake University (TX)
JUCO: Hank Plona, Indian Hills Community College (Iowa)

Tagged with: