WEEK 8: HoopDirt.com Coach of the Week presented by Just Play Solutions

Congratulations to the following coaches who have been selected as the Week 8 HoopDirt.com Coach of the Week presented by Just Play Solutions. The coaches are now eligible to receive the HoopDirt.com National Coach of the Year Award presented by Just Play Solutions which will be announced at the conclusion of the 2017-18 college basketball season.

Past weekly and yearly winners can be found below this week’s recipients.

Nominations for next week’s award can be emailed to: [email protected].

The Week 8 winners are:

NCAA DI: Tad Boyle – University of  Colorado

Tad BoyleCoach Boyle led his Buffaloes squad to two outstanding wins against top-25 teams this week. On Thursday, Colorado was able to fight back from an 8-point second half deficit to defeat 4th ranked Arizona State 90-81 in overtime. Arizona State was the highest ranked team that Colorado has beaten under Coach Boyle, and the highest ranked team beaten by Colorado since 2003. After this victory, the Buffaloes took on #14 Arizona. They were able to come away with their second straight top-25 victory, taking down the Wildcats 80-77 in a game that saw five Colorado players score in double figures. The 10-6 Buffaloes will look to stay hot on Wednesday when they face off against USC.


NCAA DII: Jeff Boschee – Missouri Southern State University

Jeff BoscheeMissouri Southern State began 2018 with a bang, going 3-0 and defeating the #1 team in the nation this week. Coach Boschee’s Lions began the year by breaking the school record for three-pointers made (20) in a 110-74 victory over Randall University. Missouri Southern then played undefeated #1 ranked Northwest Missouri, and took an impressive 83-77 victory. This was only the 2nd loss in the last 49 games for Northwest Missouri, with both losses coming at the hands of Missouri Southern. The Lions capped off the week by defeating Missouri Western State 72-66 to improve their record to 9-6. They are back in action on Thursday against Lindenwood.

NCAA DIII: Ron Rose – Illinois Wesleyan University 

Ron RoseCoach Rose’s Titans took down the 2nd ranked team in the country on the way to a 2-0 week. On Wednesday, Illinois Wesleyan took on #2 Augustana College (IL), who had been on a six-game winning streak entering the match-up. The Titans were in control all game and came away with a stunning 72-53 win. After this victory, Illinois Wesleyan went on to defeat Elmhurst 87-75 to move to 4-1 in conference play and a tie for first place in the conference. The Titans will try to improve on their 11-3 record against North Park on Saturday.


NAIA: Jesse Watkins – College of Coastal Georgia

Jesse Watkins PhotoCoach Watkins’ College of Coastal Georgia squad began the new year with a great week, going 3-0 and taking down two nationally ranked teams. The Mariners opened the week with a 76-74 defeat of 18th ranked Dalton State, their second victory over the Roadrunners this season. Coastal Georgia then rallied after trailing in the final minute to defeat Ave Maria University 71-68. The Mariners ended the week by setting a school record for points scored in a 118-111 2OT win over NAIA DII #7 Southeastern. Coastal Georgia will look to extend their 5-game winning streak on Tuesday against Middle Georgia State.


Image result for chris hackett frank phillips basketballJUCO: Chris Hackett – Frank Phillips College (TX)

It was a milestone week for Coach Hackett, as he picked up his 100th win at Frank Phillips College during a 2-0 week. The Plainsmen first defeated Trinidad State 104-86 in an extremely impressive victory, then faced off against a tough Northwest Kansas Tech squad. Frank Phillips College came away with a 90-80 win, and Coach Hackett was able to pick up his 100th career win at the school. The Plainsmen have won three straight and will look to stay hot against Midland on Monday.


[Coach of the Week written and compiled by HoopDirt.com contributor AJ Nelson]

2017-18 HoopDirt.com / Just Play Solutions Coach of the Week Winners

Week 1

NCAA DI: Fran Dunphy – Temple University
NCAA DII: Pryor Orser – Colorado School of Mines
NCAA DIII: Kevin Bettencourt – Endicott College (MA)
NAIA (co-winner): Wayne Wagner – Viterbo University (WI)
NAIA (co-winner): Matt O’Brien – Southwestern College (KS)
JUCO: Mark White – Tallahassee Community College

Week 2

NCAA DI: Porter Moser – Loyola University Chicago
NCAA DII: Andy Bronkema – Ferris State University (MI)
NCAA DIII: Justin Lunt – University of Puget Sound (WA)
NAIA: Keith Adkins – Life University (GA)
JUCO: Don Tuley – Seminole State College (OK)

Week 3

NCAA DI: Chris Mack – Xavier University
NCAA DII: Darrell Walker – Clark Atlanta University
NCAA DIII: Pat Juckem – University of Wisconsin-Osh Kosh
NAIA: R-Jay Barsh – Southeastern University (FL)
JUCO: Steve DeMeo – Northwest Florida State College

Week 4

NCAA DI: James Whitford – Ball State
NCAA DII: Adam Bohac – Southern Nazarene University (OK)
NCAA DIII: Hilliary Scott – Lynchburg College (VA)
NAIA: Vinay Patel – Oklahoma City University
JUCO: Tommy Guerin – Borough of Manhattan Community College

Week 5

NCAA DI: Steve Pikiell – Rutgers University
NCAA DII: Jeff Burkhamer – University of West Florida
NCAA DIII: Steve Howes – Catholic University (DC)
NAIA: Kyle Blankenship – Louisiana State University – Shreveport
JUCO: Hank Plona – Indian Hills Community College (IA)

Week 6

NCAA DI: Mike Young – Wofford College
NCAA DII: Bart Lundy – Queens University of Charlotte
NCAA DIII: Mike Schauer – Wheaton College (IL)
NAIA: Kelvin Starr – The Master’s University (CA)
JUCO: Evan Lavery – Rock Valley College (IL)

Week 7

NCAA DI: LaVall Jordan – Butler University
NCAA DII: Rodney Watson – University of Southern Indiana
NCAA DIII: Eric Bridgeland – Whitman College (WA)
NAIA: Jeff Sherman – Central Methodist University (MO)
JUCO: Brian Peabody – Pima Community College (AZ)

Previous HoopDirt.com Coach of the Year Award Winners:

Division I

2016-17: Chris Collins – Northwestern University
2015-16: Roy Williams – University of North Carolina

Division II

2016-17: Ben McCollum – Northwest Missouri State
2015-16: Josh Schertz – Lincoln Memorial University (TN)

Division III

2016-17: Stephen Brennan – Babson College (MA)
2015-16: John Tauer – University of St. Thomas (MN)


2016-17: Kevin Burton – Union College (KY)
2015-16: Larry Cordaro – LSU-Alexandria


2016-17: Todd LorensenSouthwestern Community College (IA)
2015-16: Craig Doty – Rock Valley College (IL)

About HoopDirt.com

HoopDirt.com is the largest website in the country dedicated specifically to college basketball coaching news, jobs, and rumors at all levels. HoopDirt.com brings a unique insider perspective to the world of college basketball coaching – it was founded by college coaches as a way to help the college basketball community stay informed of what is going on in the coaching profession. HoopDirt.com currently has a Twitter following of over 30,000, and receives nearly three-million page views per month.  

About Just Play Solutions

Just Play Solutions is quickly becoming a market leader in helping coaches to prepare faster and teach athletes more effectively. From our digital coaching tools to interactive mobile app coaches can build playbooks, scouting reports, integrate video and even quiz players. Working with over 325 programs from high school to the professional levels, Just Play has a solution for any budget or need. Just Play currently has products available for Basketball, Football, Soccer, Hockey and Lacrosse.