WEEK 10: HoopDirt.com Coach of the Week presented by Just Play Solutions

Congratulations to the following coaches who have been selected as the Week 10 HoopDirt.com Coach of the Week presented by Just Play Solutions. The coaches are now eligible to receive the HoopDirt.com National Coach of the Year Award presented by Just Play Solutions which will be announced at the conclusion of the 2017-18 college basketball season.

Past weekly and yearly winners can be found below this week’s recipients.

Nominations for next week’s award can be emailed to: [email protected].

The Week 10 winners are:

NCAA DI: Mike White – University of Florida

WhiteFGCUCoach White’s Gators came up with two huge wins to take over first place in the SEC this week. On Wednesday, Florida took down Arkansas 88-73 behind a stellar performance from beyond the arc (12-25). Then, on Saturday, the Gators traveled to Rupp Arena to play 18th ranked Kentucky, who had won 30 straight SEC games at home – a streak dating back to the 2014 season. They were able to come away with a thrilling 68-66 win for just their 10th win on the road against Kentucky in 61 tries in program history. The 14-5 (6-1) Gators next face off against South Carolina at home on Wednesday.

NCAA DII: Bob Pietrack – Fort Lewis College (CO)

pietrackFort Lewis College continued to win this week with two conference victories, including an impressive comeback win in overtime. Coach Pietrack’s Skyhawks were down by ten with just over seven minutes to go on the road against Regis University. They were able to fight back and force overtime, where they would emerge with an 85-83 victory. Next, Fort Lewis was able to defeat Chadron State College 96-69 on the road thanks to a great shooting performance (62.1% from the field). The 16-3 Skyhawks are off to their best start in program history and are in first place in the RMAC. They return home to take on Colorado Christian on Saturday.


NCAA DIII: Jeff Brown – Middlebury College (VT)

Jeff Brown16th ranked Middlebury College, led by Coach Brown, went 3-0 and knocked off a top-15 opponent in a great week for the program. The Panthers began the week by defeating Albertus Magnus in a 77-73 overtime victory. Middlebury then took on #11 Williams College on Saturday and held off a late comeback attempt in an impressive 70-66 win. They then picked up their third win of the week on Sunday with an 87-62 road win against Pine Manor College. The Panthers have now won six straight games and will take a 14-3 record into a conference match-up at Trinity on Sunday.


NAIA: Nelson Jones – Allen University (SC)

Nelson Jones ImageCoach Jones’ Yellow Jackets sparked an undefeated 3-0 week on Tuesday by defeating 12th ranked NAIA Montreat University at home with an impressive 103-79 victory. Allen University then finished the week with two road wins – a 97-84 victory against Point University and a 90-82 defeat of Tennessee Wesleyan. The Yellow Jackets improve to 15-5 overall and are currently receiving top 25 votes in the national polls. They are back in action on Wednesday at home against Reinhardt University.



JUCO: Aaron Butcher – Ancilla College (IN)

Aaron Butcher ImageIt was a milestone week for Coach Butcher, as he was able to pick up his 100th career win during a 2-0 week. The 16-1 Chargers began the week with an 85-76 win over Jackson College, then went on to defeat Grand Rapids Community College 94-79. This victory gave Coach Butcher his 100th career win. Currently the second ranked NJCAA DII squad, the Chargers also hold a perfect 6-0 conference record. Ancilla College will look to improve on their stellar season so far when they take on Lansing Community College on Wednesday.



[Coach of the Week written and compiled by HoopDirt.com contributor AJ Nelson]

2017-18 HoopDirt.com / Just Play Solutions Coach of the Week Winners

Week 1

NCAA DI: Fran Dunphy – Temple University
NCAA DII: Pryor Orser – Colorado School of Mines
NCAA DIII: Kevin Bettencourt – Endicott College (MA)
NAIA (co-winner): Wayne Wagner – Viterbo University (WI)
NAIA (co-winner): Matt O’Brien – Southwestern College (KS)
JUCO: Mark White – Tallahassee Community College

Week 2

NCAA DI: Porter Moser – Loyola University Chicago
NCAA DII: Andy Bronkema – Ferris State University (MI)
NCAA DIII: Justin Lunt – University of Puget Sound (WA)
NAIA: Keith Adkins – Life University (GA)
JUCO: Don Tuley – Seminole State College (OK)

Week 3

NCAA DI: Chris Mack – Xavier University
NCAA DII: Darrell Walker – Clark Atlanta University
NCAA DIII: Pat Juckem – University of Wisconsin-Osh Kosh
NAIA: R-Jay Barsh – Southeastern University (FL)
JUCO: Steve DeMeo – Northwest Florida State College

Week 4

NCAA DI: James Whitford – Ball State
NCAA DII: Adam Bohac – Southern Nazarene University (OK)
NCAA DIII: Hilliary Scott – Lynchburg College (VA)
NAIA: Vinay Patel – Oklahoma City University
JUCO: Tommy Guerin – Borough of Manhattan Community College

Week 5

NCAA DI: Steve Pikiell – Rutgers University
NCAA DII: Jeff Burkhamer – University of West Florida
NCAA DIII: Steve Howes – Catholic University (DC)
NAIA: Kyle Blankenship – Louisiana State University – Shreveport
JUCO: Hank Plona – Indian Hills Community College (IA)

Week 6

NCAA DI: Mike Young – Wofford College
NCAA DII: Bart Lundy – Queens University of Charlotte
NCAA DIII: Mike Schauer – Wheaton College (IL)
NAIA: Kelvin Starr – The Master’s University (CA)
JUCO: Evan Lavery – Rock Valley College (IL)

Week 7

NCAA DI: LaVall Jordan – Butler University
NCAA DII: Rodney Watson – University of Southern Indiana
NCAA DIII: Eric Bridgeland – Whitman College (WA)
NAIA: Jeff Sherman – Central Methodist University (MO)
JUCO: Brian Peabody – Pima Community College (AZ)

Week 8

NCAA DI: Tad Boyle – University of Colorado
NCAA DII: Jeff Boschee – Missouri Southern State University
NCAA DIII: Ron Rose – Illinois Wesleyan University
NAIA: Jesse Watkins – College of Coastal Georgia
JUCO: Chris Hackett – Frank Phillips College (TX)

Week 9

NCAA DI: Joe Mihalich – Hofstra University
NCAA DII: Lennie Acuff – University of Alabama Huntsville
NCAA DIII: Guy Rancourt – Lycoming College (PA)
NAIA: Paul Peck – Lindsey Wilson College (KY)
JUCO: Chris Lovell – Bossier Parrish Community College (LA)

Previous HoopDirt.com Coach of the Year Award Winners:

Division I

2016-17: Chris Collins – Northwestern University
2015-16:Roy Williams – University of North Carolina

Division II

2016-17: Ben McCollum – Northwest Missouri State
2015-16:Josh Schertz – Lincoln Memorial University (TN)

Division III

2016-17: Stephen Brennan – Babson College (MA)
2015-16:John Tauer – University of St. Thomas (MN)


2016-17: Kevin Burton – Union College (KY)
2015-16:Larry Cordaro – LSU-Alexandria


2016-17: Todd LorensenSouthwestern Community College (IA)
2015-16:Craig Doty – Rock Valley College (IL)

About HoopDirt.com

HoopDirt.com is the largest website in the country dedicated specifically to college basketball coaching news, jobs, and rumors at all levels. HoopDirt.com brings a unique insider perspective to the world of college basketball coaching – it was founded by college coaches as a way to help the college basketball community stay informed of what is going on in the coaching profession. HoopDirt.com currently has a Twitter following of over 30,000, and receives nearly three-million page views per month.  

About Just Play Solutions

Just Play Solutions is quickly becoming a market leader in helping coaches to prepare faster and teach athletes more effectively. From our digital coaching tools to interactive mobile app coaches can build playbooks, scouting reports, integrate video and even quiz players. Working with over 325 programs from high school to the professional levels, Just Play has a solution for any budget or need. Just Play currently has products available for Basketball, Football, Soccer, Hockey and Lacrosse.