WEEK 2: HoopDirt.com Coach of the Week presented by Just Play Solutions

Congratulations to the following coaches who have been selected as the Week 2 HoopDirt.com Coach of the Week presented by Just Play Solutions. The coaches are now eligible to receive the HoopDirt.com National Coach of the Year Award presented by Just Play Solutions which will be announced at the conclusion of the 2018-19 college basketball season.

Nominations for next week’s award can be emailed to: [email protected].

The Week 2 winners are:

NCAA DI: Greg McDermott – Creighton UniversityGreg McDermott

Coach McDermott led Creighton to the Cayman Islands Classic championship against a talented field this week. The Blue Jays had four players score in double digits in a 94-82 defeat of Boise State, before taking a 93-68 victory over Georgia State to advance to the Classic’s championship game. Creighton faced off against #16 Clemson and came away with a hard-fought 87-82 win. The victory marked Coach McDermott’s 14th  against a ranked opponent with Creighton, setting a school record. Up next for the 5-1 Blue Jays is a home matchup with Montana on Wednesday.

NCAA DII: Stan Gouard – University of IndianapolisStan Gouard

Coach Gouard’s University of Indianapolis squad came away with two big wins this week, including an overtime thriller to remain undefeated. Trailing by seven with just over three minutes left in regulation against Lake Superior State, #16 (D2SIDA) UIndy fought back to force overtime, where they trailed by as many as five before taking a 91-90 victory in the opener of the Greyhound Classic. The Hounds then closed out the Classic with a resounding 95-79 defeat of Wilberforce. The win moved UIndy to a perfect 6-0 as they head into their first conference matchup – a showdown at Lewis University on Saturday.

NCAA DIII: Quintin Grogan – Johnson & Wales University DenverQuintin Grogan

Johnson and Wales University Denver took two more victories this week, and is off to the best start in program history. Coach Grogan’s Wildcats went 2-0 at the Rocky Mountain Thanksgiving Classic, defeating George Fox 92-82 on Friday, and Texas-Tyler 94-87 on Saturday. This moved JWU Denver to 4-0 on the season – topping the previous 3-0 school record set during the 2003-04 season. The Wildcats will look to extend the record as they face off against Whittier on Saturday.


NAIA: Mike Newell – Dillard University Mike Newell Photo

#11 Dillard University had a monster week, knocking off two top-10 opponents and improving to 7-1 on the season. Coach Newell’s squad opened the week with a huge win over 2nd ranked LSU-Alexandria – coming back from an 86-78 deficit with 1:24 remaining to take an 88-87 victory. The Bleu Devils followed this up with another impressive win, this time over #10 William Carey 62-58, before closing out the week with a 97-87 defeat of Governers State. Dillard will try to stay hot against another top-10 foe – #7 LSU-Shreveport – on Tuesday.

JUCO: Craig Fletchall – Barton Community College Craig Fletchall

Coach Fletchall’s Barton CC Cougars had a great showing at the Collin Thanksgiving Classic, winning two overtime games to move to 8-0 on the year. On Friday, the Cougars took down previously undefeated Collin County Community College, rebounding from a halftime deficit to force overtime, where they eventually won 81-73. Barton then faced Midland College, and again came back from trailing at the half to win 77-68 in overtime and remain unbeaten. The Cougars play the Sterling College JV squad on Wednesday before beginning conference play on Saturday.


[Coach of the Week written and compiled by HoopDirt.com contributor AJ Nelson]

2018-19 HoopDirt.com / Just Play Solutions Coach of the Week Winners

Week 1

NCAA DI: Bob Richey – Furman University
NCAA DII: Ben McCollum – Northwest Missouri State University
NCAA DIII: Dale Wellman – Nebraska Wesleyan University
NAIA: Aaron Coombs – Oklahoma Pan Handle State University
JUCO: Anthony Figueroa – Parkland College (IL)

Previous HoopDirt.com Coach of the Year Award Winners:

Division I

2017-18: Porter Moser – Loyola University Chicago
2016-17: Chris Collins – Northwestern University
2015-16: Roy Williams – University of North Carolina

Division II

2017-18: Andy Bronkema – Ferris State (MI)
2016-17: Ben McCollum – Northwest Missouri State
2015-16: Josh Schertz – Lincoln Memorial University (TN)

Division III

2017-18: Eric Bridgeland – Whitman College (WA)
2016-17: Stephen Brennan – Babson College (MA)
2015-16: John Tauer – University of St. Thomas (MN)

2017-18: Craig Doty – Graceland University (IA)
2016-17: Kevin Burton – Union College (KY)
2015-16: Larry Cordaro – LSU-Alexandria


2017-18: Paul Cisek – Brookdale Community College (NJ)
2016-17: Todd LorensenSouthwestern Community College (IA)
2015-16: Craig Doty – Rock Valley College (IL)

About HoopDirt.com

HoopDirt.com is the largest website in the country dedicated specifically to college basketball coaching news, jobs, and rumors at all levels. HoopDirt.com brings a unique insider perspective to the world of college basketball coaching – it was founded by college coaches as a way to help the college basketball community stay informed of what is going on in the coaching profession. HoopDirt.com currently has a Twitter following of over 35,000, and receives nearly three-million page views per month.  

About Just Play Solutions

Just Play Solutions has become the market leader in helping coaches prepare faster and teach athletes more effectively. From our digital coaching tools to interactive mobile app coaches can build playbooks, scouting reports, integrate video and even quiz players. Working with over 500 programs from high school to the professional levels, Just Play has a solution for any budget or need. Just Play currently has products available for Basketball, Football, Soccer, and Lacrosse.