Week 7: HoopDirt.com Coach of the Week presented by Just Play Solutions

Congratulations to the following coaches who have been selected as the Week 7 HoopDirt.com Coach of the Week presented by Just Play Solutions. The coaches are now eligible to receive the HoopDirt.com National Coach of the Year Award presented by Just Play Solutions which will be announced at the conclusion of the 2018-19 college basketball season.

Nominations for next week’s award can be emailed to: [email protected].

The Week 7 winners are:

NCAA DI: Johnny Jones – Texas Southern University

MBB8967Coach Jones guided Texas Southern to their third Power Five win of the season this week, knocking off Texas A&M in their last non-conference game of the season. The Tigers had already taken down Baylor 72-69 in their season opener and then #18 Oregon 89-84 on November 26th. Texas Southern dominated in the victory over Texas A&M, using a 14-0 run to go up big in the first half before holding off a second-half surge and pulling away for an 88-73 win. The Tigers will now head into conference play at 5-8 on the season.

NCAA DII: Jim Crutchfield – Nova Southeastern University (FL)

Nova Southeastern picked up another dominant win this week, adding to what has already been a record-breaking season. The fifth-ranked Sharks, led by Coach Crutchfield, took down #7 Florida Southern 117-95 on Saturday, marking the best start to a season in program history (10-0). The victory also moved them to 4-0 in conference play for the first time since the 2008-2009 season. The Sharks, who are averaging a whopping 111.1 points per game this season, will look to remain undefeated on the road against Rollins on Wednesday.

NCAA DIII: Tom Spanbauer – SUNY Cortland

coach head shotIt was a milestone week for Coach Spanbauer, as he picked up his 400th victory at the helm of SUNY – Cortland on Saturday. The Red Dragons defeated Keystone College 107-79 in what marked Coach Spanbauer’s 400th victory in his 24th year with the school. Coach Spanbauer’s squad followed up this milestone victory with another win on Sunday – an 80-78 overtime defeat of St. John Fisher to take the St. John Fisher Woodcliff Hotel and Spa Tournament title. Cortland (8-2 on the season) will look to extend its winning streak to seven on Friday against Cabrini University.

NAIA: Jayson Artaz – Bethel College (KS)

Jayson Artaz PhotoBethel (KS) picked up two big wins this week, including a thriller ending in a double-overtime buzzer beater. Coach Artaz’s squad headed to Texas for the St. Thomas Classic this weekend, and faced off against Huston-Tillotson in the opener on Friday. Trailing by 12 with 10 minutes remaining, the Threshers fought back to force overtime before hitting a 2OT buzzer beater to take an 82-79 victory. Bethel then took down St. Thomas – Houston 89-80 on Saturday to close out the Classic. The win moved the Threshers to 9-6 in Coach Artaz’s first season – already an improvement from the 7 wins by Bethel last year. They are back in action in the new year against Southwestern on Wednesday.

JUCO: Jeff Brustad – Monroe College (NY)

Jeff BrustadCoach Brustad’s Mustangs went undefeated at the Tallahassee Democrat Holiday Classic this week, knocking off an undefeated top-5 opponent in the process. Monroe opened the Classic by rebounding from a halftime deficit to defeat Pensacola State 59-55 before facing off against undefeated, 4th ranked host Tallahassee Community College. The Mustangs hit two free throws with less than a second remaining to take a 74-73 victory and hand TCC their first loss of the season. Monroe, who improved to 10-4 on the season with this victory, will stay in Florida for the Josh Artis Memorial Classic beginning on Monday.

[Coach of the Week written and compiled by HoopDirt.com contributor AJ Nelson]

2018-19 HoopDirt.com / Just Play Solutions Coach of the Week Winners

Week 1

NCAA DI: Bob Richey – Furman University
NCAA DII: Ben McCollum – Northwest Missouri State University
NCAA DIII: Dale Wellman – Nebraska Wesleyan University
NAIA: Aaron Coombs – Oklahoma Pan Handle State University
JUCO: Anthony Figueroa – Parkland College (IL)

Week 2

NCAA DI: Greg McDermott – Creighton University
NCAA DII: Stan Gouard – University of Indianapolis
NCAA DIII: Quintin Grogan – Johnson & Wales University Denver
NAIA: Mike Newell – Dillard University (LA)
JUCO: Craig Fletchall – Barton Community (KS)

Week 3

NCAA DI: Eric Musselman – University of Nevada
NCAA DII: Jeff Price – Lynn University (FL)
NCAA DIII: Jimmy Smith – Millsaps College (MS)
NAIA: Rocky Lamar – MidAmerica Nazarene University (KS)
JUCO: Nkrumah Jones – Bunker Hill Community College (MA)

Week 4

NCAA DI: Frank Haith – University of Tulsa
NCAA DII: Billy Taylor – Belmont Abbey College (NC)
NCAA DIII: Andrew Weber – Rockford University (IL)
NAIA: Mike McBride – Holy Cross College (IN)
JUCO: Mark White – Tallahassee Community College (FL)

Week 5

NCAA DI: Rick Barnes – University of Tennessee
NCAA DII: Scott Burrell – Southern Connecticut State University
NCAA DIII: Larry Anderson – Massachusetts Institute of Technology
NAIA: Stan Holt – Langston University (OK)
JUCO: Hank Plona – Indian Hills Community College (IA)  
USCAA: Patrick Crarey, II -Washington Adventist University (MD)

Week 6

NCAA DI: Kelvin Sampson – University of Houston
NCAA DII: Eric Bovaird – Chaminade University (HI)
NCAA DIII: Carl Danzig – University of Scranton (PA)
NAIA: Jared Ronai – Mount Vernon Nazarene University (OH)
JUCO: William West – Prince George’s Community College (MD)

Previous HoopDirt.com Coach of the Year Award Winners:

Division I

2017-18: Porter Moser – Loyola University Chicago
2016-17: Chris Collins – Northwestern University
2015-16: Roy Williams – University of North Carolina

Division II

2017-18: Andy Bronkema – Ferris State (MI)
2016-17: Ben McCollum – Northwest Missouri State
2015-16: Josh Schertz – Lincoln Memorial University (TN)

Division III

2017-18: Eric Bridgeland – Whitman College (WA)
2016-17: Stephen Brennan – Babson College (MA)
2015-16: John Tauer – University of St. Thomas (MN)


2017-18: Craig Doty – Graceland University (IA)
2016-17: Kevin Burton – Union College (KY)
2015-16: Larry Cordaro – LSU-AlexandriaN


2017-18: Paul Cisek – Brookdale Community College (NJ)
2016-17: Todd LorensenSouthwestern Community College (IA)
2015-16: Craig Doty – Rock Valley College (IL)

About HoopDirt.com

HoopDirt.com is the largest website in the country dedicated specifically to college basketball coaching news, jobs, and rumors at all levels. HoopDirt.com brings a unique insider perspective to the world of college basketball coaching – it was founded by college coaches as a way to help the college basketball community stay informed of what is going on in the coaching profession. HoopDirt.com currently has a Twitter following of over 35,000, and receives nearly three-million page views per month.  

About Just Play Solutions

Just Play Solutions has become the market leader in helping coaches prepare faster and teach athletes more effectively. From our digital coaching tools to interactive mobile app coaches can build playbooks, scouting reports, integrate video and even quiz players. Working with over 500 programs from high school to the professional levels, Just Play has a solution for any budget or need. Just Play currently has products available for Basketball, Football, Soccer, and Lacrosse.