HoopDirt.com 2018-19 USCAA Coach of the Year presented by Just Play Solutions

For Immediate Release
April 29, 2019

Penn State Wilkes-Barre Head Basketball Coach LeShawn Hammett has been named as the HoopDirt.com USCAA Coach of the Year presented by Just Play Solutions for the 2018-19 college basketball season. Hammett qualified for the award by being named as the HoopDirt.com/Just Play Solutions Coach of the Week for Week 9 of the season.

Hammett led his team to a 25-5 record, and captured the USCAA DII National Championship. Penn State Wilkes Barre went a perfect 12-0 at home on the season, and 18-1 in the conference. The 25 wins were also the most in team history.

After losing the PSUAC championship game by one in overtime, Hammett’s team got hot, and rolled through the national tournament. They defeated Johnson and Wales (NC) 86-64 to claim the USCAA DII National Championship. This was the first national title for PSU-Wilkes Barre, and it marked the first time a school from the PSUAC has caprured the crown.

In his four seasons at Penn State Wilkes-Barre, Hammett has compiled a 70-41 (49-18 PSUAC) record. His team has also made four straight post season appearences. and put together an impressive 37-10 home mark during Hammett’s tenure.

Hammett becomes the first-ever winner of the USCAA HoopDirt.com National Coach of the Year presented by Just Play Soultions. For the past four seasons, HoopDirt.com has given the award to coaches at the NCAA DI, DII, DIII, NAIA, and JUCO levels. This is the first season that the emerging USCAA has been included in the program, and they will continue to be moving forward.

Previous Coach of the Year recipients can be found below, as well as all of this season’s Coach of the Week winners.

Previous HoopDirt.com Coach of the Year Award Winners:

Division I

2017-18: Porter Moser – Loyola University Chicago
2016-17: Chris Collins – Northwestern University
2015-16: Roy Williams – University of North Carolina

Division II

2017-18: Andy Bronkema – Ferris State (MI)
2016-17: Ben McCollum – Northwest Missouri State
2015-16: Josh Schertz – Lincoln Memorial University (TN)

Division III

2017-18: Eric Bridgeland – Whitman College (WA)
2016-17: Stephen Brennan – Babson College (MA)
2015-16: John Tauer – University of St. Thomas (MN)


2017-18: Craig Doty – Graceland University (IA)
2016-17: Kevin Burton – Union College (KY)
2015-16: Larry Cordaro – LSU-Alexandria


2017-18: Paul Cisek – Brookdale Community College (NJ)
2016-17: Todd LorensenSouthwestern Community College (IA)
2015-16: Craig Doty – Rock Valley College (IL)


2018-19: LeShawn Hammett – Penn State Wilkes-Barre

2018-19 HoopDirt.com / Just Play Solutions Coach of the Week Winners

Week 1

NCAA DI: Bob Richey – Furman University
NCAA DII: Ben McCollum – Northwest Missouri State University
NCAA DIII: Dale Wellman – Nebraska Wesleyan University
NAIA: Aaron Coombs – Oklahoma Pan Handle State University
JUCO: Anthony Figueroa – Parkland College (IL)

Week 2

NCAA DI: Greg McDermott – Creighton University
NCAA DII: Stan Gouard – University of Indianapolis
NCAA DIII: Quintin Grogan – Johnson & Wales University Denver
NAIA: Mike Newell – Dillard University (LA)
JUCO: Craig Fletchall – Barton Community (KS)

Week 3

NCAA DI: Eric Musselman – University of Nevada
NCAA DII: Jeff Price – Lynn University (FL)
NCAA DIII: Jimmy Smith – Millsaps College (MS)
NAIA: Rocky Lamar – MidAmerica Nazarene University (KS)
JUCO: Nkrumah Jones – Bunker Hill Community College (MA)

Week 4

NCAA DI: Frank Haith – University of Tulsa
NCAA DII: Billy Taylor – Belmont Abbey College (NC)
NCAA DIII: Andrew Weber – Rockford University (IL)
NAIA: Mike McBride – Holy Cross College (IN)
JUCO: Mark White – Tallahassee Community College (FL)

Week 5

NCAA DI: Rick Barnes – University of Tennessee
NCAA DII: Scott Burrell – Southern Connecticut State University
NCAA DIII: Larry Anderson – Massachusetts Institute of Technology
NAIA: Stan Holt – Langston University (OK)
JUCO: Hank Plona – Indian Hills Community College (IA)
USCAA: Patrick Crarey, II -Washington Adventist University (MD)

Week 6

NCAA DI: Kelvin Sampson – University of Houston
NCAA DII: Eric Bovaird – Chaminade University (HI)
NCAA DIII: Carl Danzig – University of Scranton (PA)
NAIA: Jared Ronai – Mount Vernon Nazarene University (OH)
JUCO: William West – Prince George’s Community College (MD)

Week 7

NCAA DI: Johnny Jones -Texas Southern University
NCAA DII: Jim Crutchfield – Nova Southeastern University (FL)
NCAA DIII: Tom Spanbauer – SUNY Cortland
NAIA: Jayson Artaz – Bethel College (KS)
JUCO: Jeff Brustad – Monroe College (NY)

Week 8

NCAA DI: Chris Mullin – St. John’s University
Scott Davenport – Bellarmine University (KY)
Matt Siverling – Wisconsin-Eau Claire
R-Jay Barsh – Southeastern University (FL)
Mark Bunker – Scottsdale CC (AZ)
Don Silveri – Villa Maria College (NY)

Week 9

NCAA DI: Kermit Davis – Ole Miss
Bart Lundy – Queens University of Charlotte
Greg Dunne – SUNY Brockport
Ty Harrelson – Wayland Baptist University (TX)
Mike Burris – Olney Central College (IL)
LeShawn Hammett – Penn State Wilkes-Barre

Week 10

NCAA DI: Nate Oats – University of Buffalo
DII: Tobin Anderson – St. Thomas Aquinas College (NY)
DIII: Jeff Brown – Middlebury College (VT)
(Co-Winner): Donnie Butcher – University of the Cumberlands (KY)
(Co-Winner): Kevin Easley – Life University (GA)
Chris Oney – Pearl River CC (MS)

Week 11

NCAA DI:  Steve Henson – University of Texas at San Antonio
DII: Mark Dowey – Northeastern State University (OK)
DIII: Damien Strahorn – Colby College (ME)
: Denis Shaefer – Grand View University (IA)
: Corey McKendry – Schoolcraft College (MI)
Jonathan Pena – Berkeley College (NY)

Week 12

NCAA DI: Mark Few – Gonzaga University
Andre Cook – St. Edwards University (TX)
: George Barber – Greenville University (IL)
: Eric Echelbarger – Indiana University Kokomo
:Billy Gillispie – Ranger College (TX)

Week 13

NCAA DI: James Jones – Yale University
DII: Mike McDonald – Daemen College (NY)
DIII: Matt Logie -Whitworth University (WA)
: John Teasley -Stillman College (AL)
: Steve DeMeo – Northwest Florida State College
Paul Hogan – NHTI, Concord’s Community College (NH)

Week 14

NCAA DI: Mike Krzyzewski – Duke University
DII: Bryan Rooney – Cal State East Bay
DIII: Shawn Cassidy – Concordia University Wisconsin
: Danny Neville – University of Jamestown (ND)
: Lance Madison – Lamar State College-Port Arthur (TX)

Week 15

NCAA DI: Wes Miller – UNC Greensboro
Gerald Holmes – Bloomfield College (NJ)
Todd Peretz – Mitchell College (CT)
Chris Briggs – Georgetown College (KY)
: Eric Murphy – Florida Southwestern University
Anderson Bynum – Clinton College (SC)

Week 16

NCAA DI: Johnny Dawkins – University of Central Florida
Fred Watson – Miles College (AL)
Jean Bain – Brandeis University (MA)
Vinay Patel – Oklahoma City University
: Brent Wilson – SUNY Sullivan (NY)

About HoopDirt.com

HoopDirt.com is the largest website in the country dedicated specifically to college basketball coaching news, jobs, and rumors at all levels. HoopDirt.com brings a unique insider perspective to the world of college basketball coaching – it was founded by college coaches as a way to help the college basketball community stay informed of what is going on in the coaching profession. HoopDirt.com currently has a Twitter following of over 38,000, and receives nearly three-million page views per month.  

About Just Play Solutions

Just Play Solutions has become the market leader in helping coaches prepare faster and teach athletes more effectively. From our digital coaching tools to interactive mobile app coaches can build playbooks, scouting reports, integrate video and even quiz players. Working with over 500 programs from high school to the professional levels, Just Play has a solution for any budget or need. Just Play currently has products available for Basketball, Football, Soccer, and Lacrosse.

Tagged with: